Derby Announces Class of 2019

(L-R) Col. George H. Kneen, Robert Bob Skoronski and John Whiting Storrs

Mayor Richard Dziekan is pleased to announce the selection of the 13th anniversary class for the  Derby Hall of Fame. This year's class of three chosen by the Hall of Fame Committee brings the number of Hall members to 52.

Mayor Dziekan said, "Dziekan said, “This year's class includes the greatest football player to come out of Derby of the Valley, Derby's unofficial poet laureate and an Air Force hero who distinguished himself in three of America's wars.


Click here to learn more about the Class of 2019. The first members of Derby Hall of Fame were admitted in 2007.

In 2015 the Derby High School Athletic Hall of Fame was started, and you can learn more about that here. Two members of the City Hall of Fame were also in the inaugural class of the High School Athletic Hall.

The Derby Hall of Fame is made up of Derby natives and residents who have helped to shape the course of history through their achievements at the local, state, national or international level. Each of these individuals selected was either born in Derby or lived here at some point in his/her life. Living individuals are not eligible for selection. The Class of 2019 will be inducted on Derby Day in June
, but you can nominate someone anytime by clicking here to send an e-mail. Please make sure that you provide biographical information about the person that you are nominating and not just a name. Nominations are kept on file for three years.

Microsoft Word form

Adobe Acrobat PDF form


The Hall of Fame is part of this plaza on the Derby Greenway.

The initial class of eleven individuals was inducted into the Hall of Fame on September 1, 2007. Click here for the story. Click here for the Class of 2008, here for the Class of 2009, here for the Class of 2010, here for the Class of 2011, here for 2012 and here for 2013. Click here to learn more about the Class of 2014, here for 2015, here for 2016 or here for 2017. The 2018 class can be found here.

Derby Hall of Fame

Click on the links to read about their accomplishments.

  James B. Atwater Major Wilbur Fiske Osborne
Bassett, Ebenezer Graham Peck
Dr. Ambrose Beardsley Anson Phelps
Rev. John Bowes HeadstoneRev. John Bowers Leo F. "Nuggy" Ryan
Henry M. Bradley, Jr. Henry Shelton Sanford
Edward J. Cotter quiz13.jpg (7254 bytes) Edward N. Shelton
DeFilippo, Lou Jane DeForest Shelton
  Jerry Denny Bob Skoronski
Rev. John Jordan Dillon Sheldon Smith
Herbert Henry Dow

Ann Stephens

WilliamF. Durand Charles Sterling
Quosh Freeman   John Storrs
 Frank Gates Edmund Strang
Harry Haugh   Dr. Joseph Stygar
Josiah Holbrook George P. Sullivan
Dr. John Ireland Howe David Torrance
David Humphreys Donald Waldhaus
Commodore Isaac Hull Horace Weston
Orson Hyde Joseph Wheeler
Col. George H. Kneen Stephen Whitney
Clara Louise Kellogg J. Newton Williams
Frances Osborne Kellogg Frank P. Witek
Pierre Lallement Col. Holton Wood
Reverend Richard Mansfield Edward Wooster
James McKenzie William B. Wooster
 Patrick B. O'Sullivan Harold Yudkin

Back to Derby Home page                                                                                    winner_logo.jpg (15821 bytes)