Home The Course  Course Map  All Time Winners The Commodore  Volunteer 

Commodore Hull Thanksgiving Day 5K Road Race Honors Community Leaders

Carl Sylvester
2016 Honorary Starter

The Commodore Hull Thanksgiving Day 5K Road Race is more than a race. It's a great event to celebrate two great communities, and the Race Committee is pleased to recognize people of distinction who have made life time contributions to the two communities. The tradition of selecting the Honorary Race Starter began in 2005 with the selection of legendary coach Joe Benanto, and 2014's selection of Shelton Mayor Mark Lauretti marked a decade that the award has been presented. In 2015, Janice Sheehy becomes the first female selected for the honor. Our 2016 honorary starter, Carl Sylvester, is the second runner to be named Honorary Starter and the first to have won an age group.  Carl has also enjoyed a long tenure on the race committee as well. Each of the past winners is well known for their work in both communities because they all have strong ties to both. Click on any of the pictures or links below to find out what makes them such special people.

The only official duty for the Honorary Director is to be on hand to fire the starter's gun!

Joe Benanto

Jimmy Ryan

Jim Benanto

Jim Carey

David M. Grant

Frank Skoronski

Dominick J. Thomas Jr.

Jack Ribas

Jamie Cohen

Mark Lauretti

Janice Sheehy


* Deceased

Back to Derby Home page                  Shelton Home Page                                           winner_logo.jpg (15821 bytes)