Derby Announces Class of 2020

(L-R) Giuseppe Cusano, the work of John Cloues, and Dr. Albert Phillips

Mayor Richard Dziekan is pleased to announce the selection of the 14th anniversary class for the  Derby Hall of Fame. This year's class of three chosen by the Hall of Fame Committee brings the number of Hall members to 55. Normally, the members are announced in conjunction with Derby Day, but because of the coronavirus issue, it will not be held this year.

Mayor Dziekan said, "Dziekan said, “This year's class is diverse in its accomplishments. It includes an Italian immigrant who became the first from Derby to die in service to his new country in World War I, the man who designed the streetscape of what was the Borough of Birmingham and is better known as downtown Derby today, and the distinguished physician who served as Derby's fifth mayor as well as the first chairman of the board at Griffin Hospital.

Click here to learn more about the Class of 2020. The first members of Derby Hall of Fame were admitted in 2007.

In 2015 the Derby High School Athletic Hall of Fame was started, and you can learn more about that here. Two members of the City Hall of Fame were also in the inaugural class of the High School Athletic Hall.

The Derby Hall of Fame is made up of Derby natives and residents who have helped to shape the course of history through their achievements at the local, state, national or international level. Each of these individuals selected was either born in Derby or lived here at some point in his/her life. Living individuals are not eligible for selection. The Class of 2020 will be inducted on Derby Day in June
, but you can nominate someone anytime by clicking here to send an e-mail. Please make sure that you provide biographical information about the person that you are nominating and not just a name. Nominations are kept on file for three years.

Microsoft Word form

Adobe Acrobat PDF form


The Hall of Fame is part of this plaza on the Derby Greenway.

The initial class of eleven individuals was inducted into the Hall of Fame on September 1, 2007. Click here for the story. Click here for the Class of 2008, here for the Class of 2009, here for the Class of 2010, here for the Class of 2011, here for 2012 and here for 2013. Click here to learn more about the Class of 2014, here for 2015, here for 2016 or here for 2017. The 2018 class can be found here.

Derby Hall of Fame

Click on the links to read about their accomplishments.

  James B. Atwater Major Wilbur Fiske Osborne
Bassett, Ebenezer Graham Peck
Dr. Ambrose Beardsley Anson Phelps
Rev. John Bowes HeadstoneRev. John Bowers Dr. Albert Phillips
Henry M. Bradley, Jr. Leo F. "Nuggy" Ryan
Edward J. Cotter Henry Shelton Sanford
John Cloues quiz13.jpg (7254 bytes) Edward N. Shelton
Giuseppe Cusano Jane DeForest Shelton
DeFilippo, Lou Bob Skoronski
  Jerry Denny Sheldon Smith
Rev. John Jordan Dillon

Ann Stephens

Herbert Henry Dow Charles Sterling
WilliamF. Durand   John Storrs
Quosh Freeman Edmund Strang
 Frank Gates   Dr. Joseph Stygar
Harry Haugh George P. Sullivan
Josiah Holbrook David Torrance
Dr. John Ireland Howe Donald Waldhaus
David Humphreys Horace Weston
Commodore Isaac Hull Joseph Wheeler
Orson Hyde Stephen Whitney
Col. George H. Kneen J. Newton Williams
Clara Louise Kellogg Frank P. Witek
Frances Osborne Kellogg Col. Holton Wood
Pierre Lallement Edward Wooster
Reverend Richard Mansfield William B. Wooster
James McKenzie Harold Yudkin
 Patrick B. O'Sullivan  

Back to Derby Home page                                                                                    winner_logo.jpg (15821 bytes)