Derby Announces Class of 2021

The 15th anniversary class for the Derby Hall of Fame chosen by the Hall of Fame Committee brings the number of Hall members to 58. Normally, the members have been announced in conjunction with Derby Day, but because of the coronavirus issue, it was not held last year and probably not in 2021 either. The Committee has decided that starting with 2021, the announcement of the new class will coincide with Derby's birthday on May 13.

In announcing the 2021 class, Mayor Dziekan said, "As Derby is approaching its 350th anniversary in 2025, we have a class that encompasses about 300 of those years and represents the rich diversity of our heritage starting in 1738 when Molly Hatchett was born. The Paugassett tribe which dominated the area prior to the arrival of European settlers was in decline and Molly is regarded as the last of the Paugassetts. We also have the first member of the Hall of Fame of Asian ancestry Joseph L. Hang Moo who died in the service of our country. Finally, we have world renown actor Brian Dennehy who got his first taste of the stage right here in Derby. They join the previous 55 individuals who are enshrined in the Hall and contributed so much to our history and culture."

Click here to learn more about the Class of 2021. The first members of Derby Hall of Fame were admitted in 2007.

In 2015 the Derby High School Athletic Hall of Fame was started, and you can learn more about that here. Two members of the City Hall of Fame were also in the inaugural class of the High School Athletic Hall.

The Derby Hall of Fame is made up of Derby natives and residents who have helped to shape the course of history through their achievements at the local, state, national or international level. Each of these individuals selected was either born in Derby or lived here at some point in his/her life. Living individuals are not eligible for selection. The Class of 2021 was announced at the Board of Aldermen meeting on May 13
, but you can nominate someone anytime by clicking here to send an e-mail. Please make sure that you provide biographical information about the person that you are nominating and not just a name. Nominations are kept on file for three years.

Microsoft Word form

Adobe Acrobat PDF form


The Hall of Fame is part of this plaza on the Derby Greenway.

The initial class of eleven individuals was inducted into the Hall of Fame on September 1, 2007. Click here for the story. Click the year to read more about each:

2008   2009  2010   2011  2012   2013   2014   2015   2016   2017   2018   2019  2020  2021

Derby Hall of Fame

Click on the links to read about their accomplishments.

  James B. Atwater Joseph L. Hong Moo
Bassett, Ebenezer  Patrick B. O'Sullivan
Dr. Ambrose Beardsley Major Wilbur Fiske Osborne
Rev. John Bowes HeadstoneRev. John Bowers Graham Peck
Henry M. Bradley, Jr. Anson Phelps
Edward J. Cotter Dr. Albert Phillips
John Cloues Leo F. "Nuggy" Ryan
Giuseppe Cusano Henry Shelton Sanford
DeFilippo, Lou quiz13.jpg (7254 bytes) Edward N. Shelton
Brian Dennehy Jane DeForest Shelton
  Jerry Denny Bob Skoronski
Rev. John Jordan Dillon

Sheldon Smith

Herbert Henry Dow Ann Stephens 
WilliamF. Durand Charles Sterling
Quosh Freeman John Storrs 
 Frank Gates Edmund Strang
Molly Hatchett Dr. Joseph Stygar
Harry Haugh George P. Sullivan
Josiah Holbrook David Torrance
Dr. John Ireland Howe Donald Waldhaus
David Humphreys Horace Weston
Commodore Isaac Hull Joseph Wheeler
Orson Hyde Stephen Whitney
Col. George H. Kneen J. Newton Williams
Clara Louise Kellogg Frank P. Witek
Frances Osborne Kellogg Col. Holton Wood
Pierre Lallement Edward Wooster
Reverend Richard Mansfield William B. Wooster
James McKenzie Harold Yudkin

Back to Derby Home page                                                                                    winner_logo.jpg (15821 bytes)